Keith R.A. DeCandido (kradical) wrote,
Keith R.A. DeCandido

  • Mood:
  • Music:

Schott's Miscellany 7 February 2009

The first of the Dead Sea Scrolls was discovered, near Jericho (1947)


Life involves suffering and is inevitably sorrowful.
Suffering has its rootes in desire and craving, which arise from ignorance.
The end of suffering comes with the cessation of desire.
Nirvana can be reached by the Noble Eightfold Path.

The Noble Eightfold Path further outlines a method of disciplined behavior:

Right view: understanding of the Four Noble Truths.
Right aspiration: having caring thoughts and intent for all living things.
Right speech: speaking kindly, truthfully, without bad language.
Right bodily action: following the Five (or Ten) Moral Precepts.
Right livelihood: undertaking work that will harm nothing living.
Right endeavor: practicing meditation and working to stop bad thoughts.
Right mindfulness: giving full attention and best effort to one's actions.
Right concentration: which leads to enlightenment.

You can't say civilization don't advance, however, for in every war they kill you in a new way.
Will Rogers (1879-1935)
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic
    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.