Keith R.A. DeCandido (kradical) wrote,
Keith R.A. DeCandido

  • Mood:
  • Music:

Schott's Miscellany 22 February 2009

Washington's Birthday


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (the Mormons) was founded in1830 by Joseph Smith, who is believed by Mormons to have been chosen by God as a prophet. In 1844, Smith was killed in jail by a mob while facing charges of conspiracy. Since then, teh church has been led by the following prophets:

Brigham Young: 1847-77
John Taylor: 1880-87
Wilford Woodruff: 1887-98
Lorenzo Snow: 1898-1901
Joseph F. Smith: 1901-18
Heber J. Grant: 1918-45
George Albert Smith: 1945-51
David O. McKay: 1951-70
Joseph Fielding Smith: 1970-72
Harold B. Lee: 1972-73
Spencer W. Kimball: 1973-85
Ezra Taft Benson: 1985-94
Howard W. Hunter: 1994-95
Gordon B. Hinckley: 1995-2008
Thomas S. Monsan: 2008-

I bet your father spent the first year of your life throwing rocks at the stork.
Groucho Marx (1890-1977)
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic
    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.